The Writer Tag: Blogmas Day Three

Happy Blogmas Day Three!

I found this tag on InkBlots and IceBergs , and I decided to answer these questions so that we can get to know one another better! (hoping you answer some of them in the comments, too 🙂 )

1. What type of writing do you do? 

I write a lot of papers since I’m currently in college, and that isn’t going to stop any time soon! Luckily I enjoy being in school.

But my passion is and always has been writing fiction; both short stories and novels. 

2. What genres and/or topics do you write about?

I don’t know that I stick with one genre, but I find myself pulled to writing YA fiction. I also love a good love story that hits you right in the feels. 

3. How long have you been writing?

I have always loved telling a story, so I started writing “novels” when I was 10 or 11. I can’t say any of them were good, but it instilled a love of writing in me from a young age, developing characters and writing them into existence.

4. Are you published?

Unfortunately, no. Someday I plan to change that, of course!

5. What was the first story you ever wrote?

The first story I ever wrote was about a princess whose name I can’t remember. She was 10 years old, and her brother, the prince, ran away because he didn’t want to take the throne. But their father, the king, thought that the prince had been taken by a nearby kingdom and potentially killed. While the king waged a war to get his son back, the 10 year old princess was put into hiding so no one could take her, too.

I don’t remember how it ended.

6. Why do you write?

I think I write because I’m lucky enough to have the muse visit me. I find myself thinking of story ideas all the time and writing them down. Really painting a picture of a snippet of life for the reader brings me a lot of joy. 

7. How do you find time to write?

Sometimes I don’t! Life gets in the way. But I think there’s a certain truth that you make time for the things you love, so no matter how long it’s been since I last wrote, I always go back to it. One of my goals for 2019 is to write something every day. 

8. When and where are the best times to write?

I’m a midday/afternoon person. I love writing while the afternoon sun is coming in through the living room window. I call it the golden hour. It makes me really happy, and it helps me think of writing time as something special just for me.

9. Favorite food/drinks while writing?

Coffee is a must. Food, what food?

10. Your writing playlist?

I need to make a Spotify playlist for writing! I tend to listen to songs on repeat, and I have a rotation depending on my latest obsessions. When I was writing a WIP that was going to be an epic fantasy series (I’ve shelved it currently), I listened to movie soundtrack-esque tracks by Twisted Jukebox. Highly recommend. 

Right now, here are the songs on repeat:

  • Elusive by Gentle Bones
  • Baby It’s Your Life by John Gold
  • Skin and Bones by Marcelo
  • Please Don’t Leave Quite Yet by Adam Egin
  • Bad Liar by Imagine Dragons

11. What do family/friends/loved ones think of you writing?

I feel lucky to say that my parents have always been SO supportive of my writing. I come from a family of creatives, so they understand the desire to make, to dream, and to keep my imagination flourishing. My mom has always maintained that writing is my true calling. 

12. Parts of writing you enjoy the most?

Getting to visit the little worlds in my head. I think as a reader and a writer this is the most precious gift our imaginations give us. I love getting so lost in my own story that I feel like these people and places are real, and sharing them with others is just icing on the cake. 

13. Parts of writing you find challenging?

Sticking to just one story! I jump around too much, and that means that my writing can get derailed. I wish I had the patience to see each WIP through to the end, but I’ve abandoned a number of them because I was inspired to write another story.

14. What do you write with and on?

I plot and plan to my heart’s content using pen and paper. But I write (blog posts, school papers, and fiction) on my laptop. When inspiration is lacking for where to go next in my story, I find that going back to pen and paper helps get things moving again.

15. How do you overcome writer’s block?

I think writer’s block, for me, happens when I’m distracted. The way I overcome that is by writing about the things distracting me in a journal or incorporating them into a short story. Also, I put the computer away because it’s too much of a temptation for me to have it around, luring my focus away from writing. I’m looking at you, Pinterest!

16. How do you motivate yourself to write?

I read books on writing usually. And I get into a cozy writing space. I have a desk in my apartment and a comfy writing chair where thoughts flow easily for me. I set time limits or word count limits to help push myself to keep going, and most of the time I surpass them. Even though I just said that Pinterest can be a huge distraction, it can be helpful when I need character inspiration or I want to know what a specific place looks like that I’m writing about.

17. Authors who inspire you as a writer

JK Rowling is my number one. Anyone who grew up with the Harry Potter series knows that she brought magic to muggles, and I’m one of them. For that I’m a forever fan. Another author I love is Hugh Howey, who wrote the Dust series. Oh, and Andy Weir cracked me up with the Martian– I would love to know how he injects so much intelligent humor into his stories.

18. Books that inspire you as a writer

My favorite book of all time is the Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. I am inspired by Enzo’s beautiful view of life. The Harry Potter series, of course, has to be included here because she crafted a remarkable story. I’m inspired by Rowling’s ability to keep readers in the dark without making them feel like she’s doing it. Lastly, the Book Thief because damn did it make me cry. It’s inspiring that words on a page can move someone to tears– and I’m not talking pretty little droplet on my cheek; I mean a full-on ugly cry, alone in my room.

19. Best advice you’ve gotten as a writer?

Murder your darlings. This was actually advice passed on from my mother, who’s a graphic designer. It means, if something doesn’t fit in your story, no matter how long you’ve dedicated to it, move on.

20. Writing goals this year 

Keep up with this blog, finish my WIP, meet fellow writers, interview authors for my blog, dedicate more time to learning the craft and help others wanting to do the same.

Please leave a link in the comments below to your blog if you end up doing this tag, too! 

Photo by Suzy Hazelwood from Pexels

12 Replies to “The Writer Tag: Blogmas Day Three”

  1. *Why do I write : To inspire people around me. To see the smile on my readers face after reading my blog. That’s the only reason of my writing!

    *What genre am I into : I am more of an inspirational writer. Along with that, I also in the cliche genre of love, life haikus and poetry

    *How long I have been writing : It’s been around 3 months since I started this blog, but I have been writing on Instagram since a year.

    *Not yet published any of my writeups

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tobey! I agree; it helps that I can gather my ideas on a subject and express them thoughtfully when writing on my blog. I don’t always find that to be true in person.
      I will be sure to visit your blog 🙂
      All the best to you as well!
      -R

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Harvesting Hecate

Thoughts on life, writing, creativity and magic

WRITER AADI

I write with the only aim in my mind to inspire as many people as I can and to spread positivity and happiness all around through my words

Jenniely

Award Winning UKYA Book Blogger, Book Reviews, Writing and Life

Matthew Richardson

Published in Gold Dust magazine, Literally Stories, Near to the Knuckle, McStorytellers, Penny Shorts, Soft Cartel, Whatever Keeps the Lights On, and Shooter magazine.

YelloHonu

"Light on you, light on success"